When you come to Mexico, dare to stray a bit off the beaten path and you’ll find gorgeous places like this one.

Mexico Retold

BAs we snaked around the bays of Huatulco towards the archeological site of Copalita I felt my excitement rising. I love exploring new places in Mexico and the fact that I had never heard of Copalita only increased my enthusiasm for checking it out. My two companions, although interested in seeing the site, were quite amused by the level of my excitement.

The first thing that struck me when we arrived at the site was how naturally it had been preserved. The site had not been cleared in the way some other archeological sites are and the trail around the structures took us through tree and vine-lined walkways that were simply enchanting. We could observe the trees and birds and enjoy the way that nature had reclaimed its space amongst the temples. This, I would read later, was the intention of the archeologists who claimed that even though the roots…

View original post 491 more words

2 thoughts on “Copalita: A Hidden Gem In Huatulco

Leave a Reply

