San Miguel de Allende

San Miguel de Allende is a charming colonial city in Mexico’s heartland. It was named one of the best cities in the world by Condé Nast Traveler and it’s also home to one of the largest expat communities in Mexico. Read this post by Cindy Veg to find out what all the buzz is about!

casilocal

A quaint, little colonial town nestled in the mountains north of Mexico City, San Miguel de Allende is where I’ve decided to hang out for the next six weeks. The colorful and historic buildings which line the cobblestone streets are some of the most photogenic I’ve seen anywhere, the food is tasty, and the people are friendly.

_mg_6924

Despite warnings from other travelers, it is still much colder than I expected. To those of you – feel free to say “I told you so.” Starting all the way back with my road trip in Arizona, if there is one takeaway from this trip, it is the effects of altitude. San Miguel de Allende sits around 6,500 feet, making me wish I had brought more than a thin, zip-up hoodie. But what it lacks in heat, it certainly makes up for in charm.

_mg_6889

I spend my days strolling through the many markets, painting, and practicing…

View original post 224 more words

Leave a Reply

