Hola, and a very happy Mother’s Day to all my mommy readers. I hope you have a beautiful day, because you deserve it. 

Make sure you subscribe!

Click to tweet this post

Happy Mother's Day In Mexico | My Heart Of Mexico

Mother’s Day In Mexico

In Mexico, Mother’s Day is always on May 10th, no matter what day of the week it is. This year, May 10th falls on a Tuesday, but that won’t keep people from celebrating Mom like they should. 

May 10th is the single biggest day for sales at stores, flower shops, and restaurants all over the country. It’s probably even more profitable than Christmas. That’s how big it is.

Happy Mother's Day In Mexico | My Heart Of Mexico
On Mother’s Day, it’s my husband’s turn to ace the kitchen!

But the holiday isn’t just a shopping spree. Mother’s Day is a huge sentimental holiday in Mexico. People host big luncheons or dinners and church masses for moms. They hire mariachis to play for them and buy them big gifts. Businesses hand out roses on the streets to moms. People skip work or school, if they can, to spend some quality time with Mom.

Many sociologists have written essays and papers about Mexico’s obsession with mothers, but I’m not going to try. I’m just going to say that there is nothing more precious in a Mexican family than a mom. 

Happy Mother's Day In Mexico | My Heart Of Mexico

My Own Mother’s Day

I usually spend Mother’s Day at home with my children and my husband. I don’t like going out to dinner because all the restaurants are impossibly crowded. I also don’t usually spend it with my Mom because she just wants to have a quiet, relaxing day at home so I let her chill. My mother-in-law, God rest her soul, liked to visit her own mom because there’s always a huge party going on over there. That just goes to show how different mothers can be.

Happy Mother's Day In Mexico | My Heart Of Mexico
On Mother’s Day, it’s my oldest son’s turn to do dishes. And no, we don’t have a dishwasher.

To be honest, I don’t want much on Mother’s Day, just a few simple things like the ones I wrote about in this post.

This year, I’ll try to stay close to my mom. She’s been going through a very hard time after my sister passed, and she needs to have family close. She told me she didn’t feel like celebrating this year, and I understand her, but she should at least feel like she’s not alone with her grief.

I wish you all a very happy and wonderful Mother’s Day!

How do you usually spend Mother’s Day? Please share!

6 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day in Mexico!

  1. A nice and quiet Mother’s Day is always nice (& what I prefer too)…so sad about your sister – your mom must really feel it during Mother’s Day…Hope you enjoy your special day tomorrow! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I’m really looking forward to a laid-back day, bur since it’ll be my Mom’s first Mother’s Day without my sister, I think I’m also going to stop by her place and make sure she’s doing ok.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.